Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Two Lonely Hearts

By Damian Bloodstone (damianbloodstone@gmail.com)

Copyright © 6/12/2012  All Rights Reserved.  This cannot be copied in whole or in part without the author’s sole express permission.

I looked at the woman at the table sitting alone over from me.  We shared that same loneliness in our eyes that I had seen too many times in the mirror.  I rose, reaching out my hand to her, the next song starting.  Gently taking her hand and leading her to the dance floor, I grasped her softly and tenderly in my arms.  I sensed her body relaxing in my arms.  I had the wondrous warmth of another’s touch.  Her arms wrapped around me in a manner that made me look down at her.  I lifted her face to stare into her eyes, seeing tears of joy softly falling from them.  Kissing her lightly on her cheeks, catching each tear, her beauty was revealed from her heart.  I pulled the comb from her hair letting it flow down her shoulders and back.  Her look of surprise and wonder was reward to my heart; it was a look of unconditional love.  I didn’t even know her name, yet our hearts became one during that dance.  We weren’t the beautiful ones, we were the ones overlooked except by each other, just a normal man and woman.

